While I was browsing on Shelley’s family archive website,  I realized how hard it is to read and interpret the old texts that were written in cursive by genius people many decades ago. Such a challenging job to translate these archival documents made by the people who would never win any significant award for doing this. When I was clicking on one page after another, I was fascinated how talented and educated these researchers should be to do this kind of work.  As it seems almost impossible to understand even one word from these old documents: the ink is vague, and writer’s cursive looks as familiar as if it were written in Japanese. From the video, I found out that one can search this archive by manuscript and work, but also by the keywords. Moreover, I tried to read few pages of Percy Bysshe Shelley translation of Plato’s Ion and learned that each page of the original manuscript is accompanied by essential information about the text: when it was written, by whom, was it a draft or not, and where it was translated.  Before this website, I did not know that her family was so talented and they were even called “England’s First family of writers.”

archive page

