IMG_0546

It was one of those unusually warm winter days in the end of January that my best friend named Simba and I went on an amazing and unexpected two mile walk. It was sunny and about seventy degrees with a mildly chilly breeze in the air that was as refreshing as a glass of cold water. Simba loved the weather and strut through the streets like he owned it.  We usually keep our walks nearby our house in Staten Island but this time I decided we should walk all the way to a park named Arthur Von Briesen which has this amazing view of the Verrazano Bridge and Manhattan. While we were walking to the park Simba kept looking up at me as if saying “Where are we going?” It was definitely a new part of town for the little guy but with his trust in me he kept strutting along excited as can be. Along the way we met a few other dogs some just as small as Simba and a huge German Shepard that paid no mind and tried to chase down a few squirrels as well. Finally we reach the park and we stop at the entrance to admire the trees and their movement along with the mild wind.

simba172

I can tell the eagerness of Simba to explore the park with me which made me smile and I yelled for him to follow me and we ran into the park. Simba and I kept walking more into the park through the winding roads and grassy little fields. For Simba it was a Squirrel Wonderland and for me it was just a glimpse of Utopia with my little buddy. We finally reached the top of the park and we both hop on the benches to get a better view of the Verrazano Bridge to the right of us. To the left is the beautiful island of Manhattan and the skyscrapers which Simba doesn’t care about much, but to me it was beautiful to be so close to a crazy city but thankfully still so far away. We can see the blue of the water and the sky and see the seagulls above us singing their songs. Simba and I finally had enough of the view and decided to just sit on the bench and enjoy each others company we looked at each other and he lay his head on my lap as if to say “Thanks for this amazing day.” And I thanked him too.

IMG_0555 simba17

 

