“I am trying to be both happy and pay attention to the world around me. I do not know if it is possible to do both at the same time” (Blythe Baird).

I do not watch the news, read the newspaper, or go out of my way to stay updated with what’s going on in the world. It’s all too overwhelming; I figure if there is some information that I REALLY ought to know, it will find its way to me.

I found out about the Women’s March by word of mouth, the way I receive most of my information. My professor cancelled class because she would be participating in the “A Day Without a Woman” Strike.  I told my other professor, and she cancelled too.

I thought it’d be a nice experience to attend the rally, and also be a part of history, women’s history. So I went online to find where the march would be gathering.

IMG_2915.PNG

I sought out a friend to accompany me, because of course I was too nervous, for whatever reason, to go on my own. And of course that friend cancelled on me the day of. And after a lot of pep talks and self-convincing I decided to put on the only red shirt I own and take the train down to Manhattan alone, and attend the rally on my own.

As soon as I got off the train at the West 4th St Station, I began to see all the red, and I felt good. It’s similar to the feeling of entering the rainbow crowd at pride in NYC, after being in the suburbs.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I’ve never been surrounded by such a welcoming crowd of women. Everyone greeted me with a smile, I could feel the love and support of womanhood in the air. Many people stopped me, just to talk, just to ask how my day was going. It felt like we were sisters.

IMG_2862.JPG

“The aim of life is to live, and to live means to be aware, joyously, drunkenly, serenely, divinely aware” (Henry Miller).

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

Here’s a link to the Women’s March website,

https://www.womensmarch.com/

